Monday, March 9, 2009

Root for local authors at the Nebula Awards

The finalists for the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America's 2008 Nebula Awards have been announced. Local authors in the running include Kelley Eskridge, in the novella category for her collection of short stories, Dangerous Space (2007, Seattle's Aqueduct Press), and Kij Johnson's short story, "26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss," (Asimov's, July 2008). Eskridge's collection includes the stories "Alien Jane," "Strings," and "The Eye of the Storm" with an introduction by WisCon 33 Guest of Honor, Geoff Ryman. The blog AskNicola points to a good review of Dangerous Space at The Word Horder. Read Johnson's story, which also made Locus Magazine's 2008 recommended reading list, on her site. The Nebulas will be awarded April 24-26 in Los Angeles. More local authors who are finalists for the award include...? Let us know. Which stories are you rooting for?

Also at the event: Harry Harrison, author of 62 novels including Make Room! Make Room! (1963), the one that inspired the movie Soylent Green (1973), will be honored as the next Damon Knight Grand Master; M.J. Engh, author of Arslan (1976) and Wheel of the Winds (1988) will be honored as Author Emerita; and Joss Whedon (Buffy, Firefly, Dollhouse as well as "Fray" and "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" season eight for Dark Horse Comics) will receive the Ray Bradbury Award.


Kelley Eskridge said...

Thanks very much for the support, I appreciate it. For anyone who's interested, my nominated novella is available to read on my website.

Shel Graves said...

Thank you for stopping by Kelley, and for the link. You gave a great reading at the Clarion West series. I hope there will be more chances to hear you read from your work.

Kelley Eskridge said...

Thank you, Shel, I'm glad you enjoyed the reading. I love to do them. Nothing on the horizon right now, but we'll see what comes up.